2014 Events

January 2014
Region Date & Time
Mentor Training Course
South East
London Tuesday, 14 January 2014 - 9:15am to 4:30pm
'Blue Monday'
East of England
East of England Sunday, 26 January 2014 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm
February 2014
Region Date & Time
Lonely hearts, wedding bells and illicit pleasures: a far from sentimental journey of how London loved in print
Library and Information History Group
London Friday, 14 February 2014 - 6:00pm
March 2014
Region Date & Time
Visit to the Humanist Library at Conway Hall
Library and Information History Group
London Tuesday, 18 March 2014 - 4:00pm
New Professionals Day
CILIP
London Thursday, 20 March 2014 - 9:00am
June 2014
Region Date & Time
CILIP RDA: Resource Description and Access Executive Briefing 2014
CILIP
London Thursday, 12 June 2014 - 9:15am
Visit to John Port School
East Midlands
East Midlands Thursday, 12 June 2014 - 2:00pm
Libraries sold and saved: three hundred years of collecting books in London
Library and Information History Group
London Tuesday, 24 June 2014 - 5:30pm
July 2014
Region Date & Time
CILIP ARLG NW Visit to Manchester Central Library and Members Day
Academic and Research Libraries Group
North west Tuesday, 1 July 2014 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Libraries at war: a walk through London’s print culture in the Second World War
Library and Information History Group
London Tuesday, 1 July 2014 - 5:30pm
Tour of Oxford Brookes new Headington Library
South East
South East Wednesday, 2 July 2014 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm
Library Camp South West 2014
South West
South western Saturday, 5 July 2014 - 10:00am to 4:30pm
'Breaking the Mould' - An Introduction to Mould Management and Mitigation
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
South East Monday, 7 July 2014 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
New Professionals Day
South West
South western Wednesday, 9 July 2014 - 9:30am to 6:00pm
Keeping up to date with new research: skills and tools for library staff and users
Academic and Research Libraries Group
London Wednesday, 9 July 2014 - 1:30pm to 6:00pm
Keeping up to date with new research
Information Services Group
London Wednesday, 9 July 2014 - 1:30pm to 6:00pm
Visit to the Nicholas Wood Library at the North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers (NIEMME)
Academic and Research Libraries Group
North east Wednesday, 9 July 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
CPD- Free visit to The Leeds Library
Academic and Research Libraries Group
Yorkshire and Humberside Thursday, 10 July 2014 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Visit to the New Library of Birmingham
Information Services Group
West Midlands Friday, 11 July 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Afternoon visit to three libraries at the University of Cambridge
Academic and Research Libraries Group
East of England Friday, 11 July 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:45pm
2014 Conference
Library and Information History Group
London Saturday, 12 July 2014 - 10:00am to 5:00pm
Meet the CSOs and MSO
West Midlands
West Midlands Wednesday, 16 July 2014 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Visit the Award Winning Augustine House Library
South East
South East Thursday, 17 July 2014 - 2:30pm to 4:30pm
CILIP WMMN Committee Meeting
West Midlands
West Midlands Friday, 18 July 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
CILIP London Member Network Summer Social
London
London Tuesday, 22 July 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
The publishing revolution: a revolutionary’s story (or from award winner to indie author… )
South East
South East Wednesday, 23 July 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
CILIP Yorkshire & Humberside Members' Day
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Thursday, 24 July 2014 - 12:30pm to 5:00pm
'Breaking the Mould' - An Introduction to Mould Management and Mitigation
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
South East Tuesday, 29 July 2014 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Developing a major special collections exhibition: a case study around the Comics Unmasked exhibition at the British Library
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
London Tuesday, 29 July 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:30pm
August 2014
Region Date & Time
Invasion of Emergent Readers: An Unconference hosted by YLG Eastern
Youth Libraries Group
East of England Tuesday, 5 August 2014 - 10:30am to 3:00pm
PMLG Tour of the City Business Library
Public and Mobile Libraries Group
London Wednesday, 6 August 2014 - 3:30pm
Summer ramble
South East
South East Wednesday, 6 August 2014 - 10:30pm
Visit to Queen Square Library, Archive and Museum
Academic and Research Libraries Group
London Thursday, 7 August 2014 - 2:00pm
IFLA Satellite Conference
CILIP
West Midlands Tuesday, 12 August 2014 - 8:30am to Wednesday, 13 August 2014 - 5:00pm
Lost Libraries 2: a walk through some more of London’s forgotten book collections
Library and Information History Group
London Thursday, 14 August 2014 - 6:00pm
Visit to the National Art Library in the V&A
South East
London Monday, 18 August 2014 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Visit to York Minster Library
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
Yorkshire and Humberside Wednesday, 20 August 2014 - 2:00pm
RBSCG Annual Study Conference 2014
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
Scotland Wednesday, 27 August 2014 - 12:00pm to Friday, 29 August 2014 - 5:00pm
September 2014
Region Date & Time
Library Assistants Training Morning
Academic and Research Libraries Group
South East Wednesday, 3 September 2014 - 9:45am
Using Google Professionally
South East
South East Wednesday, 3 September 2014 - 6:30pm
Visit to BBC Archive collections
Academic and Research Libraries Group
South East Thursday, 4 September 2014 - 2:00pm
CIG Conference 2014
Cataloguing and Indexing Group
South East Monday, 8 September 2014 - 2:00pm to Wednesday, 10 September 2014 - 1:00pm
Mentor Event for existing mentors
South East
South East Tuesday, 9 September 2014 - 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Mentor's Afternoon Event
London
London Wednesday, 10 September 2014 - 1:30pm
Mentor's Evening Event
London
London Wednesday, 10 September 2014 - 5:00pm
MmIT 2014 Conference
Multimedia Information and Technology Group
Yorkshire and Humberside Thursday, 11 September 2014 - 10:30am to Friday, 12 September 2014 - 3:30pm
Writing research proposals and publications
Information Literacy Group
London Friday, 12 September 2014 - 10:00am to 4:30pm
Writing research proposals and publications
Library and Information Research Group
London Friday, 12 September 2014 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
Everything you wanted to know about children's publishing
Youth Libraries Group
London Saturday, 13 September 2014 - 9:30am to 7:00pm
Tour of Hertfordshire Central Library and Information Service
Information Services Group
South East Tuesday, 16 September 2014 - 2:30pm
Visit to the Kent History Centre, Maidstone
South East
South East Wednesday, 17 September 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Inside the Teenager's Brain
School Libraries Group
London Wednesday, 17 September 2014 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Portfolio Building Course for Certification and Chartership
East of England
East of England Friday, 19 September 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:00pm
Lonely hearts, wedding bells and illicit pleasures: a far from sentimental journey of how London loved in print
Library and Information History Group
London Friday, 19 September 2014 - 6:00pm
Talk: Knowledge, data and information in the organisation
London
London Monday, 22 September 2014 - 6:30pm
In the picture: getting the most out of images inside and outside your collection
Local Studies Group
London Wednesday, 24 September 2014 - 10:30am to 4:30pm
Visit to Wakefield Public Library and Wakefield College Library
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Wednesday, 24 September 2014 - 5:15pm
Student (Pupil) Library Assistant Training Day
School Libraries Group
London Friday, 26 September 2014 - 9:30am to 3:30pm
CILIP Debate: 'This House believes Local Authorities are still the best way to deliver the public library service'
CILIP
North west Saturday, 27 September 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Training Day 2014
Youth Libraries Group
South East Monday, 29 September 2014 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
CILIP LMS Suppliers Showcase - Edinburgh
CILIP
Scotland Tuesday, 30 September 2014 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
October 2014
Region Date & Time
Introduction to CILIP Mentoring
West Midlands
West Midlands Monday, 6 October 2014 - 9:30am to 4:30pm
Web Accessibility and Wordpress evening talk
South East
South East Tuesday, 7 October 2014 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
The International Librarians Network is the theme for our October Informal
International Library and Information Group
London Wednesday, 8 October 2014 - 6:00pm to 7:45pm
CILIP's New Professionals Day 2014
CILIP
London Friday, 10 October 2014 - 9:30am to 4:30pm
Visit to the Royal United Services Institute Library
Information Services Group
London Tuesday, 14 October 2014 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Twilight Visit to The Hive
West Midlands
West Midlands Tuesday, 14 October 2014 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
A History of the 20th Century in 100 Maps
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
London Tuesday, 14 October 2014 - 6:00pm
GIG AGM
Government Information Group
London Thursday, 16 October 2014 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm
CILIP Debate: 'This House believes that, in the digital age, government departments are no longer safe custodians of the public record'
CILIP
London Thursday, 16 October 2014 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm
Readers for Life
Youth Libraries Group
North east Friday, 17 October 2014 - 9:00am to Saturday, 18 October 2014 - 6:00pm
CILIP Debate: 'Children don't need books or libraries: it's all on the internet'
CILIP
North east Saturday, 18 October 2014 - 2:15pm
Tour of Bishopsgate Institute
Commercial, Legal and Scientific Information Group
London Monday, 20 October 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Internet Librarian International
Commercial, Legal and Scientific Information Group
London Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 9:00am to Wednesday, 22 October 2014 - 5:00pm
The Ultimate Guide to Comics and Manga
School Libraries Group
London Wednesday, 22 October 2014 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
They shall not be forgotten
South East
South East Thursday, 23 October 2014 - 7:00pm
Portfolio Building Workshop
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Monday, 27 October 2014 - 1:30pm to 4:30pm
Portfolio Building Workshop
South East
South East Monday, 27 October 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Portfolio building event
South East
South East Wednesday, 29 October 2014 - 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Autumn Gathering 2014 Scotland Thursday, 30 October 2014 - 9:30am to 4:30pm
Portfolio Building for CILIP Professional Registration (Chartership, Certification & Fellowship)
North West
North west Friday, 31 October 2014 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Mentor Exchange of Experience
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Friday, 31 October 2014 - 1:30pm to 4:00pm
November 2014
Region Date & Time
Visit to the Architectural Association Library and Archives
Information Services Group
London Tuesday, 4 November 2014 - 10:30am
Introduction to CILIP Mentoring - November Session
London
London Wednesday, 5 November 2014 - 9:30am to 4:30pm
Making Sense of Copyright
South East
South East Wednesday, 5 November 2014 - 9:45am to 1:00pm
Switching Sector
South East
South East Wednesday, 5 November 2014 - 6:30pm
Professional Registration Event, Coventry
West Midlands
West Midlands Thursday, 6 November 2014 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Legal Research Workshop
Commercial, Legal and Scientific Information Group
London Thursday, 6 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:00pm
2014 AGM
Library and Information History Group
London Thursday, 6 November 2014 - 4:00pm
CILIP Debate: 'This house believes a volunteer run library service is better than no service at all'
CILIP
North east Thursday, 6 November 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
This event is now closed. For information about LMS Showcase Spring 2015 see the link below
CILIP
London Friday, 7 November 2014 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
Introduction to Certification and Chartership
London
London Friday, 7 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
PATMG Meeting in LEEDS
Patent and Trademark Group
North west Wednesday, 12 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:00pm
Library Tech Meet Up
London
London Wednesday, 12 November 2014 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm
CILIP East Committee Meeting
East of England
East of England Wednesday, 12 November 2014 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Professional Associations as a Foundation for an International Profession
International Library and Information Group
London Wednesday, 12 November 2014 - 6:00pm to 7:45pm
Re-imagining learning: a new opportunity for libraries
CILIP
London Thursday, 13 November 2014 - 9:15am to 4:15pm
Hillsborough: How Information Can Lead to the Truth
North West
North west Thursday, 13 November 2014 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Marketing Excellence Awards 2014: Sharing your value, making an impact
Publicity and Public Relations Group
West Midlands Friday, 14 November 2014 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
Professional Registration Explained
South West
South western Friday, 14 November 2014 - 10:00am
Educational Attainment and School Libraries
School Libraries Group
London Friday, 14 November 2014 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
CILIP Cymru Wales Free Training Day and AGM
CILIP Cymru Wales
Wales Friday, 14 November 2014 - 10:30am to 2:30pm
Extended Tour of the Bodleian Library Reading Rooms
South East
South East Sunday, 16 November 2014 - 11:15am
Portfolio Building
London
London Monday, 17 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Marketing your Library Service: Principles and Actions
International Library and Information Group
London Tuesday, 18 November 2014 - 10:00am to 4:30pm
Visit to Kirklees College, Huddersfield
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Tuesday, 18 November 2014 - 6:00pm
Mentor Exchange - Develop your mentoring skills
South East
South East Wednesday, 19 November 2014 - 1:30pm to 4:00pm
Visit to Market Harborough Library - CANCELLED
East Midlands
East Midlands Wednesday, 19 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Warburg Institute Library
Academic and Research Libraries Group
London Thursday, 20 November 2014 - 2:30pm to 4:30pm
Developing Digital Literacy Skills
Academic and Research Libraries Group
North east Thursday, 20 November 2014 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
Visit to the Inner Temple Library - revised date
Government Information Group
London Friday, 21 November 2014 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Open-Access Advocacy
Academic and Research Libraries Group
Yorkshire and Humberside Tuesday, 25 November 2014 - 1:00pm to 4:30pm
Winter Warmer Quiz
South East
South East Tuesday, 25 November 2014 - 7:00pm
CIG e-forum on getting into cataloguing
Cataloguing and Indexing Group
International Tuesday, 25 November 2014 - 10:00pm to Wednesday, 26 November 2014 - 4:00pm
Council meeting
CILIP
London Wednesday, 26 November 2014 - 11:30am to 3:30pm
Revalidation Evening
West Midlands
West Midlands Wednesday, 26 November 2014 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Portfolio building event
North East
North east Thursday, 27 November 2014 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
The Information Management Summit 2014
CILIP
London Friday, 28 November 2014 - 9:00am to 4:30pm
E-books: reading the future
International Library and Information Group
London Friday, 28 November 2014 - 9:30am to 4:15pm
Brand and Deliver with Kathy Ennis
Academic and Research Libraries Group
North west Friday, 28 November 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:00pm
December 2014
Region Date & Time
CILIP Retired Members Guild Christmas Lunch
East Midlands
East Midlands Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 12:00pm to 3:30pm
Visit to The Royal College of Surgeons of England Library & Archives
Academic and Research Libraries Group
London Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 2:15pm
Performances to Celebrate International Day of Person’s with a Disability and UK Disability History Month
Community, Diversity and Equality Group
London Wednesday, 3 December 2014 - 12:00pm to 2:30pm
Introduction to Certification and Chartership
East Midlands
East Midlands Wednesday, 3 December 2014 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Chartership Revalidation
London
London Wednesday, 3 December 2014 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Visit to Bernard Quaritch, Antiquarian and Rare Book and Manuscript Dealers
Library and Information History Group
London Wednesday, 3 December 2014 - 6:00pm
December fun-ction, quiz social
South East
South East Wednesday, 3 December 2014 - 6:30pm
Networking Event for Librarians and Archivists
Local Studies Group
North west Monday, 8 December 2014 - 4:00pm to 6:30pm
ARLG East Midlands: Improving Customer Experience Workshop
Academic and Research Libraries Group
East Midlands Tuesday, 9 December 2014 - 9:30am to 3:45pm
ARLG London and southeast Xmas Pub Quiz
Academic and Research Libraries Group
London Tuesday, 9 December 2014 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tour of the British Library’s major exhibition
Rare Books and Special Collections Group
London Tuesday, 9 December 2014 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Cilip in Surrey Christmas Quiz
South East
South East Wednesday, 10 December 2014 - 7:00pm
Meet Author and Journalist Katharine Quarmby
Community, Diversity and Equality Group
London Thursday, 11 December 2014 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm
ARLG Eastern's Christmas social
Academic and Research Libraries Group
East of England Thursday, 11 December 2014 - 5:15pm to 7:30pm
Visit to PRONI
CILIP Ireland
Ireland Thursday, 11 December 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
CILIP in Sussex presents its 14th annual Christmas Pub Quiz!!
South East
South East Thursday, 11 December 2014 - 7:00pm to 11:00pm
Gadget Day
South West
South western Friday, 12 December 2014 - 10:30am to 3:30pm
CILIP Yorkshire & Humberside Christmas Social
Yorkshire and Humberside
Yorkshire and Humberside Monday, 15 December 2014 - 6:30pm
The new Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library
South East
South East Wednesday, 17 December 2014 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
What can CILIP do for you?
South East
South East Wednesday, 17 December 2014 - 3:30pm to 6:00pm