The CILIP Board is our governing body. This page tells you about the role and membership of the Board and how it works.

What is the CILIP Board?

The Board is the decision making body that governs the work of the organisation and sets its priorities. There are 12 Board Members elected by the members and up to 3 can also be co-opted. All Board Members, elected and co-opted, must be members of CILIP. The call for nominations and elections, if contested, are held annually. 

What does the Board do?

The Board sets the strategic direction of CILIP and ensures that the organisation is financially sound, compliant with the law and acting in the best interests of members. The Board delegates the work to the Chief Executive and the CILIP team and ensures that they are delivering the objectives set for them.

Board structure

CILIP Board has a Chair, Vice-Chair and Honorary Treasurer. The Presidential Team also sit on the Board but do not vote. There are Bye-laws and regulations creating a framework for governing CILIP.  

You can find the members of the board on Our people page.