The Library and Information Research Group currently offer 3 awards:

  • LIS practitioner researcher award - new prize launched at CILIP conference 2016.
  • LIRG student award – runs annually and offers a prize for the best dissertation.
  • LIRG research award – runs biannually and offers a prize to undertake a research project.
  • LIRG scan – runs on an irregular basis and provides funding for a “scan” or literature review of a hot topic in the LIS sector.

LIS practitioner researcher excellence award

The Library and Information Science practitioner researcher excellence award worth £500 will be presented in October 2016 at a New Professionals Day event either to an individual or a team that has made a substantial contribution to LIS research in 2015-16. This new award is building on the work of the LIS Research Coalition which had a particular interest in supporting practising librarians and information scientists, both in how they can access and exploit available research in their work, and in their own development as practitioner researchers.

Nominations should take the form of a 500-word statement that demonstrates the research excellence and impact of the candidate (or candidate team) and provides evidence of their research output (e.g. references or links to published articles, links to blogs, conference papers or presentations on SlideShare).

Nominators should be from the UK or be members of CILIP. 
Nominees must be CILIP members and at least one member of the candidate team should be a CILIP member. Self-nomination is not permitted.

The deadline for nominations is Friday 16 September 2016. Nominations should be sent to Alison Brettle, LIRG Awards Co-ordinator at Members of the LIRG Committee will judge the award.


LIRG student prize

The Library and Information Research Group invites nominations for this year's LIRG student award. The award is typically given in recognition of an outstanding research-based Postgraduate dissertation or a final year Undergraduate project. Each type will be given appropriate consideration. Every Department of Library and Information Studies is encouraged to nominate one of their students' projects. For submissions to be eligible, the dissertation or project should have been submitted between August 2014 and July 2015. The closing date is 18 December 2015. Please see our Student Award page for more details.

2014 winner: Jessica Elmore, University of Sheffield

2013 winner: The LIRG student prize for 2013 has been awarded to Mary Davies for her dissertation entitled, A study of post-primary teacher and librarian collaboration in Northern Ireland, submitted to the MSc in Library and Information Management, School of Education, University of Ulster. Congratulations to Mary.

2012 winner: Timothy Lowe, Northumbria University.

2011 winner: Thomas Muggleton, Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Strathclyde University.


LIRG research award

The LIRG research award is intended to encourage research and innovation in library and information science. Particular attention will be paid to proposals intended to improve the accessibility, retrievability and usefulness of information.

The research award is held biannually and LIRG last ran the research award in 2014 although the closing date was extended until 31 January 2015. A workshop was held on 12 September 2014 to provide guidance on writing research proposals and publications. The workshop was jointly run with the Information Literacy Group (ILG).

LIRG research award winners:

Congratulations to the winner of the 2014-15 research award - Penny Andrews who is an independent researcher as well as working at Leeds Beckett University.  Her proposal is on understanding the experience of users with hidden disabilities in academic libraries.

The proposal was selected because it was the highest scoring proposal which most closely aligned with the aim of the award which is to encourage research and innovation in library and information science and in particular to improving the accessibility, retrievability and usefulness of information.

2011 winners: Hannah Rose and Gillian Siddall, both academic librarians at the University of Northampton.


LIRG scan award

The LIRG scan is not intended to be an annual award, but rather a special means to address an urgent current issue in library and information science, by acting as a summary of relevant research. It is not intended to generate new research, but rather to collect, analyse and present existing research in a report for application by practitioners. This research will then be used to inform LIRG and CILIP policy.

The Scan is an award which responds to an "urgent" question, in 2012/13, the question was "What do LIS practitioners want from research?"

The paper from the 2012/13 scan award was published in the December 2013 edition of LIR. It provides an excellent summary of “What do LIS practitioners want from research” and the full paper will be published on LIRG website later in the year.

LIRG scan winners:

2012/13: Helen Buckley Woods and Andrew Booth, Information Resources at Scharr, University of Sheffield. The paper summarising this research was published in the December 2013 issue of Library and Information Research journal.

There are currently no plans to run the scan award in 2014/15.