Jason Farradane Award Winners

Below is a list of the winners since the Trophy was first presented in 1979.

2017 - <Link>
Christopher Gutteridge, Systems, Information and Web programmer at the University of Southampton, known for being the lead developer for GNU EPrints and for being an advocate for Open DataLinked Data and the Open Web.

2016 - <Link>
Professor Hazel Hall, an eminent international teacher and scholar in library and information science with major contributions to both theory and practice and raising the awareness of the value of information in the workplace

2015 - <Link>
Sheila Webber for demonstrating excellence in education and teaching in information science and  for raising the profile of the information profession

2014 - <Link>
Professor Blaise Cronin and Lucy Tedd, in both cases for demonstrating excellence in education and teaching in information science and  for raising the profile of the information profession

2013 - <Link>
Professor Charles Oppenheim for raising the profile of the information profession, as well as his contributions to the theory and practice of, and demonstrating excellence in teaching, information science

2012 - <Link>
The Chemoinformatics Research Group in the Information School, University of Sheffield: a leading centre worldwide for chemoinformatics research for over forty years

2011 - <Link>
United Kingdom Council of Research Repositories (UKCoRR) for an outstanding contribution to the information profession in promoting repository management and administration as a recognised and respected profession

2010 - <Link>
Dr Shawky Salem for contributions to the information profession through excellence in education and teaching

Not awarded

Not awarded

Caroline Williams and the Intute Community Network

University of Warwick Library for the development of The Learning Grid

Michael Koenig, Founding Dean of the College of Information and Computer Science at Long Island University, for his Lifetime's Work of scientific enquiry in Library and Information Science

Julia Chandler, Internet and Intranet Manager at the Department for International Development, for developing the government Intranet managers network

London Metropolitan University and the TUC for the web site "The Union Makes Us Strong: TUC History Online"

William Hann for the FreePint newsletter

Professor Bruce Royan for SCRAN

Jill Foster for her pioneering work in establishing the Mailbase discussion and distribution list

Michael Keen for his Lifetime's Work in Information Retrieval

Norman Wood and the EIRO Team of the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions Dublin, for their outstanding and original work on the European Industrial Relations Observatory (EIRO)

Newcastle University Library for the Development and Administration of the Newcastle Electronic Reference Desk (NERD)

The Higher Education Funding Council's Electronic Libraries Programme for innovation in the exploitation of IT in Higher Education Libraries

Dennis Nicholson and the BUBL team for the development of the Bulletin Board for libraries

Rita Marcella and colleagues at the School of Librarianship and Information Studies at Robert Gordon University for the development of their innovative Postgraduate Course in Information Analysis

Peter Ingwersen in recognition of his services to Information Science

European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working conditions, Dublin, for developing the series of European and Industrial Relations Glossaries

Arnold Myers, Information Scientist, for contribution to information services with the international oil and gas industry

Scottish Science Library, for the setting up of an important new library for Scotland

Patricia Baird, Blaise Cronin, Noreen MacMarrow, University of Strathclyde, for work in the field of hypertext on producing an electronic conspectus on the life and times of the City of Glasgow

No award - no nomination received before closing date

Sandra Ward, Information Scientist, for work in raising the profile of industrial information services

Phil Williams, academic and businessman, for contributions to making online searching more readily accessible to users

Phil Holmes, for achievements in applying technological advances to library development especially in the development of BLAISE (British Library), and PEARL (Blackwell Technical Services)

Jacqueline Welch, librarian at Wessex Medical Library, for contributions to the promotion of information science particularly within the field of medical information

Karen Sparck-Jones, academic, for information science research, including automation classification and indexing, methods of testing and evaluation, weighting and relevance feedback

Monty Hyams, Businessman, Derwent Publications Ltd, for Developed Central Patents Index for patent searching

William Wisswesser (USA), for work with chemical notation, giving his name to Wisswesser line notation (WLN)

Michael Lynch, academic, Sheffield University, expert in chemical structure handling

Jason Farradane, founder of the IIS and a cornerstone of information science teaching and research